top of page

Scientist Spotlight: Abby Glass

Hello my fellow curious critters and welcome back for another scientist spotlight! Today it is my absolute pleasure to introduce you to my friend Abby Glass. I met her during her time at Murray State University when we worked in the same watershed lab. She is currently pursuing her Masters degree at George Mason University where she studies whale fossils. She is on her way to becoming an amazing paleontologist and I am really excited to watch her succeed. So, without further ado, meet Abby Glass!



What made you want to become a scientist?

From a young age, I have always had a general interest in nature and the world around me. As a kid, I loved dinosaurs, animals, and being outside. I was always checking out books about dinosaurs at my local library or playing outside with friends. I also loved to dig, as if that weren’t the biggest clue for my future career choice. I used to dig holes in the yard with a paintbrush and a chisel when I was young…my dad did not appreciate this.


When did you know you wanted to be a scientist?

During my senior year of high school, I thought a lot about what I wanted to do with my life and concluded that I could not see myself doing anything else. Office jobs are not my thing. I wanted to have a career in music before I chose this path, but then realized I would be miserable if I did that. I decided that paleontology was my true calling after a family trip to the badlands in South Dakota where I got to talk to paleontologists who were on a dig there. They said they got to dig every day and that just sounded like the best time.


What did you do to become a scientist?

I received a BS in Geoscience: Environmental Geology with a minor in Biology at Murray State University. I chose this path as an undergraduate because it would give me the skills I needed to be a paleontologist. Many paleontologists get degrees in geology, biology or some other related field. At Murray, I took every science-related opportunity that I could get. I did research in Colorado with the biology department and worked picking invertebrates in their lab. I had a great time doing this but ultimately, fish and insects were not my thing. I also did research on globicephaline (melon headed) whale ear bones. I got this opportunity through the paleontologist at Murray State at the time, Dr. Michelle Casey. She introduced me to a friend of hers, Dr. Rachel Racicot. Through her I got to take CT scans of whale ear bones and study the morphology of their inner ears. This gives important information about how they echolocate. Lastly, I took every opportunity I could to travel, apply for grants, and present at conferences. All of this set me up for attending graduate school at George Mason University where I currently study fossil whales.


How did you decide what area of science to specialize in?

I have always been fascinated with marine creatures. The bigger the better. Some of my favorite extinct animals are Mosasaurus, Megalodon, and Liopleurodon if you don’t include any whales. I decided that the best way to combine my passion for marine biology and vertebrate paleontology was to study fossil marine creatures. When I was applying to graduate schools, I decided George Mason University was the best fit for me because my advisor, Dr. Mark Uhen, is a well-known whale paleontologist.


What does your typical day look like?

In current COVID times, I teach and do school from home. I teach Geology 101 and 102 labs to undergraduates, which is pretty fun. I enjoy teaching people what I know and helping others learn. When I am not teaching or doing schoolwork I am working on my research. I decided to do my thesis as a continuation of what I did as an undergraduate. I am looking at the inner ear morphology of fossil whales now and mapping the evolution of their changing shapes and structures through time.


What is your favorite thing about being a scientist?

My favorite thing about being a scientist is learning about new things. Every day I’m required to read and learn. Research is fun because when you take a deeper look at things you may find something unexpected.


What is your least favorite thing about being a scientist?

My least favorite thing about being a scientist currently is the workload. Sometimes I get so busy during the school year I don’t have time for any of my hobbies or friends and it can get depressing. I do my best to combat this by trying to stay on top of my work, being productive, and making time for myself when I know I need a break.


What is your favorite random science fact?

It has to be the fact that a whale’s closest living relatives are the artiodactyls. These are even-toed ungulates that include cows, pigs, and hippos! Whales are mammals and evolved from a hooved land-dwelling ancestor.


If you weren’t a scientist, what do you think you would be doing for a living?

This is a hard question because I can’t imagine what I’d be doing if I didn’t have a career in some science-related field. I would probably be doing something with music or I would be one of those animal YouTubers.


What area would you NEVER want to study?

Probably anything related to human medical sciences. I think I’ll stick to my fossils.


What is your favorite animal?

It’s hard to pick just one so I will give my top seven in no particular order: Snakes, penguins, hamsters, owls, raccoons, foxes, and whales. There are many more.


What do you like to do when you’re not being a scientist?

When I’m not being a scientist and a grad student I like to play piano, read, go hiking, camp, make art, and play with my animals.


What is your favorite memory from the field/doing research?

My favorite field/ research experience was when I did an internship at Ashfall Fossil Beds in Royal, Nebraska. If you’ve never heard of it, I highly suggest you check it out! This was my first real experience with paleontological research and fieldwork. I got to do excavations in volcanic ash where I found 12-million-year-old tracks of bone-crushing dogs and excavated fossil rhino teeth from a field jacket. I gained a lot of valuable experience there and met some great people too.


Thank you all so much for coming out and learning all about Abby’s journey to becoming a paleontologist! I, for one, got a new favorite science fact to add to my list. Who would have thought that whales’ closest living relatives were cows and pigs?! I love it when science blows my mind. Let’s all give Abby a great big thank you for sharing her story with us and showing us yet another path we can take in the marvelous world of science. I’ll see you all back here soon for more science fun!


40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page